My Experience with Apple Silicon

There’s not much to say

Jon Bell
1 min readNov 24, 2020

I took it out of the box and the old Mac startup chime greeted me. It booted up quickly and asked if I wanted to migrate data from my other laptop. I did.

It took about 2 or 3 hours for everything to transfer over. When it was done, I had the same desktop, same settings, same apps, everything just worked. One exception was my Google email passwords, and it’s possible other passwords are still transferring.

I did some work, like I always do. Things felt snappy. Now I’m sitting here with a computer that looks and feels the same as the other one. There’s nothing more to tinker with or geek out about. All my stuff is here and my new laptop is just waiting to see what I want to do with it.

There’s nothing else to say, and no higher compliment I can give a new piece of technology.

--

--

Jon Bell

Designer, writer, teacher. I love building things.